Tom Morello and Boots Riley cover M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes”

Unbeknown to me, Rage Against the Machine guitar warlock Tom Morello has apparently formed another side-project (in 2006?) and its work is far superior to anything Audioslave has ever done.  Street Sweeper Social Club (SSSC) is a two-man band that released a full-length, self-titled debut in 2009 to pretty poor reviews, although I can’t quite understand why.

Boots Riley of the politically charged hip hop group The Coup stands at the mic as Morello’s partner in rhyme.  Together, this pair of musical revolutionists churn out funkafied rap-rock tunes and is now on the cusp of releasing it’s second effort, The Ghetto Blaster EP, which is due out August 10.  The lead single has leaked and its a cover of M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes.”

Take a listen, make a download, and write a comment.  I want to hear if you like it or not.  I for one do.

About rote7123

Chris graduated from The College Of New Jersey in May 2011 with a Bachelor Degree in Journalism and Professional Writing, as well as a degree in Communication Studies. He has held down a position in the Asbury Park Press’ Sports Department since September of 2010 and is a contributor to the outlet's Arts & Entertainment section, and has contributed to The Aquarian Weekly all while being the sole operator of Asbury Park's premier music news outlet Speak Into My Good Eye.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tom Morello and Boots Riley cover M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes”

  1. Sheil says:

    Ha, I just post about this yesterday. I think the song is great… I’ve heard a lot of remixes of Paper Planes, but this is by far the best. Tom Morello is a guitar god.

Leave a Reply

