Weezer Releases First Single Off Upcoming Album

Weezer with Muppets

Weezer’s upcoming effort Hurley, due out on September 14th, is named after and features a photograph of Jorge Garcia, the American actor who played Hurley in Lost, on its cover.

Today, the band released its first single, “Memories,” for download and the biggest question I have is, well, what the fuck man?

This latest effort includes gang vocals that span the entire track, Brian Bell distorting his guitar so much that it resembles an electronic disco synth, and lyrics that I’d venture a guess, took no longer than 17 minutes to write.

The chorus echoed by Rivers Cuomo, the rest of the band, friends, family, everybody in the studio, the homeless guy in the back alley, and the Easter Bunny goes like this: “Memories makes me want to go back there.”  The best way to do that fellas, how about you try a little bit.  Stop popping out a record a year, and fucking try harder.  Because if you haven’t figured it out, The Red Album and Raditude sucked compared to you older work.  And I can only pray that Hurley will be better, but based on this single, I don’t foresee any improvement.

The opening line of “Memories” is spoken by some dismembered male voice, a figure from the band’s past, offering the foursome this bit of advice…”You gotta put some effort into it, or nobody’s gonna care.”  Cuomo and company should heed his wisdom.

I’m not a fan, but I’d love to hear what you think.  Leave a comment if it suites you.

About rote7123

Chris graduated from The College Of New Jersey in May 2011 with a Bachelor Degree in Journalism and Professional Writing, as well as a degree in Communication Studies. He has held down a position in the Asbury Park Press’ Sports Department since September of 2010 and is a contributor to the outlet's Arts & Entertainment section, and has contributed to The Aquarian Weekly all while being the sole operator of Asbury Park's premier music news outlet Speak Into My Good Eye.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weezer Releases First Single Off Upcoming Album

  1. Sheil says:

    Wow, this is worse than shit. You’re absolutely right: the memories I want to go back to involve dropping the Blue Album into my cd player, hitting play, hearing My Name Is Jonas for the first time, and feeling the weight of my jaw dropping to the floor. Now we’re treated to this garbage.

    I remember thinking how terrible the Red Album was, and how I was excited for the followup because it couldn’t get worse than that. Then came Raditude and, sure enough, I was proven wrong. I thought, “Okay, it definitely can’t get worse than this.” And now, here’s the first “single” off Hurley. Ouch.

    But hey, at least we know that Weezer is doing something productive with their time instead of making good music.

  2. Ken says:

    Not to say I was a huge fan of the song, but i don’t think it necessarily means that this will be a shitty album. The charm of Weezer has always been in their simplicity and the literal meaning in their lyrics. They’ve never made music to impress anybody or to be great; they just kind of do it, and thats why we like them. They’ve always been this way, and its always kind of been hit or miss to critics. The point is not that they deserve to be applauded for making records that people don’t like, but that they are a band that’s really difficult to be disappointed by, because its just Weezer being Weezer. They are always going to be worth a listen, and they are always going to be liked by most fans.

  3. Rodney says:

    The version of the track you reviewed is the “Jackass 3D Remix”, featuring group vocals from the cast of the film. Weezer released the regular version of the track (featuring Rivers handling vocals solo) via iTunes this week.

  4. rote7123 says:

    Rodney,
    I reviewed what Weezer sent me, and I did not enjoy it. But I will listen to the regular version to see if anything changes for me. Thanks for the heads up.

    Ken,

    I’m not saying the entire album will be garbage. I’m not a psychic. However, if you can show me a record where the single is crap and the rest of it is stellar, then congratulations, because you’ll be in possession of the first one in music history.

    And as for who Weezer tries to impress or what they try to do, your absolutely right, the band is at its best when they “just do it.” However, these past two albums the guys haven’t been “just doing it.” Cuomo has had an agenda. He wanted to emphasize the the pop aspect of Weezer more than the rock, and he’s done so successfully, pissing me off in the process. Rhyming for the sake of rhyming and Lil Wayne are two things I have a hard time accepting in any brand of music, let alone a band I really love like Weezer. I suppose that’s why Weezer’s recent short comings have cut so deeply.

Leave a Reply

