Speakend Playlist (11/5-8)

The Speakend Playlist is back again.  After a short Halloween weekend break the list is back to its unspecified jumble of music that I like, and hope you will too.

Feel free to vote in the poll and to download any of these tracks free of charge.

And, if you ever like anything so much that you crave more, feel free to contact me and I’ll get you the rest of what I have.  People seem to think I’m a decent dude, just reach out my pastoral patrons of SIMGE.

Black Birds

Black Birds’ “Brightest Diamond” is back on the list as the reigning champion.  I know I previously compared this band to Blondie, and in some cases that analysis still holds true, but, after taking a closer listen over the past few days, I’ve gotten an Oasis-type feel from this Asbury Park four-piece.  The vocals are dark and melodic with heavy instrumentals played underneath.  It’s fun and depressing at the same time.

“Brightest Diamond” by Black Birds

Frank Turner @ Stone Pony

If you’ve been keeping up with this blog you know all about Frank Turner so I won’t go into it.  What you need to know is that he is playing a free show at The Stone Pony tonight…GO TO IT!!!  Turner is putting out a new EP next month but has dropped his new single, and my favorite song in his catalogue, “I Still Believe” early.  The EP is in preparation for his new full length which is due out sometime early in the the new year.  “I Still Believe” will be the only overlapping song.  By the way, I’m not making this track downloadable.  I apologize, but, like I said, the guy is playing a free show in our own backyard, we can afford to pay the 99 cents on Itunes.  I did.

“I Still Believe” by Frank Turner

Murder By Death

There’s a certain musical expectation associated with a band that chooses the name Murder By Death.  Forget about what you think you’ll hear because I guarantee you won’t.  This is gritty, gravely, Southern Rock played by folks with Punk ideology on the brain and whiskey on their breath.  Murder By Death has collaborated with Gerard Way (My Chemical Romance), Geoff Rickley (Thursday), and William Elliot Whitmore, and this next cut off its 2010 release Good Morning, Magpie.

“Yes” by Murder By Death

Das Racist

Brooklyn rap group Das Racist has sacked the underground garnering praise from such notable news outlets as Pitchfork, SPIN, and…The New York Times?  Das Racist success comes on the back of their style, which is built around, quite frankly, not giving a shit about style.  The duo’s laid back, part comical, part critical, amalgamation of rhymes riddled with obscure, sometimes “nerdy,” references allow Das Racist to access and appeal to a wide range of listeners.  All of the group’s material is out on the internet.  I recommend picking it up.  This next track is a new release put out this week.

“I’m Up On That” by Das Racist

The Constellations

The Constellations are Rap-Rock band from Atlanta and this eight-piece’s debut Southern Gothic is just that, a dark soulful comedy with Southern Rock grooves played over Rap and R & B lyrics by front-man Elijah Jones, as well as special guests Cee-Lo-Green, a.k.a Dangermouse, a.k.a. Gnarles Barkley, and, featured on this next song, Asher Roth.

“We’re Here To Save The Day (feat. Asher Roth)” by The Constellations

Jukebox The Ghost

Jukebox The Ghost is Poppy Piano Rock at its finest.  In fact, I haven’t enjoyed such a high dose of keys in my music since last spinning Billy Joel’s The Stranger album.  This act is currently touring on its 2010 release Everything Under The Sun in support of one of my favorites, Barenaked Ladies.  However, this cut comes from The Ghost’s 2008 record Let Live And Let Ghosts.

“Under My Skin” by Jukebox The Ghost

About rote7123

Chris graduated from The College Of New Jersey in May 2011 with a Bachelor Degree in Journalism and Professional Writing, as well as a degree in Communication Studies. He has held down a position in the Asbury Park Press’ Sports Department since September of 2010 and is a contributor to the outlet's Arts & Entertainment section, and has contributed to The Aquarian Weekly all while being the sole operator of Asbury Park's premier music news outlet Speak Into My Good Eye.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

