Speakend Playlist (10/14 – 10/17)

THIS WEEK’S CHAMP (Third Consecutive Victory): “The Combination Is Explosive” by Tango Machina

Results:

“The Combination Is Explosive” by Tango Machina (13)

“Puppy Mills Presents” by The Gay Blades (5)

“Good Ol’ Fashion Nightmare” by Matt & Kim (3)

“Clint Eastwood” by Gorillaz (2)

“Hot Lava” by Perry Farrel (1)

“Peacebone” by Animal Collective (1)

Tango Machina is a hard rocking trio from Monroe with a Queens of the Stone Age type song writing style and a no bullshit attitude.  Where some bands will try to blind you from their sub-par tunes with bright lights and shoddy stage antics, Tango Machina will rip your eyes out with songs that cut to the bone.  “The Combination Is Explosive” is one of those tracks and a newly recorded version will be included on the band’s upcoming EP.  But for now…

“The Combination Is Explosive” by Tango Machina

Animal Collective

In 2009, while sinking deeper into a mud pit with every ground trembling bass thump, sunburned from barely bearable sun, and camping on a 500-acre piece of farmland turned festival ground in Manchester, TN, I saw a band called Animal Collective that changed my musical life.  This band made my spine vibrate and the clouds pulsate…and I wasn’t on acid.  I fell in love with Animal Collective that day and the band’s 2009 release Merriweather Post Pavilion.  Shortly after that Bonnaroo experience I dug further and found the Maryland based four-pieces 2007 full-length Strawberry Jam, from which this next track was lifted, and found I liked it more.  Animal Collective opened my mind to the world of psychedelic laced Pop-Rock and for that, I thank Avey Tare, Panda Bear, Geologist, and even you Deakin.

Chef Aid

I heard this next song at another festival in this little red neck town called South Park, Colorado.  The town folk got together, booked some local acts, and put on this benefit show for the local school chef who fell on some hard times.  Anyway, my purple van broke down, I had nothing to do, and decided to check it out.  I think the opening act was this hard rock four-piece called Timmy & The Lords of The Underworld or something like that.  They were pretty good, I only caught one of their songs and the lyrics consisted of one word, not including the chorus of course.  Then, out of nowhere celebs, bands, and artists start showing up and playing.  It was nuts and the collaborations were insane.  Ozzy, DMX, and ‘Ol Dirty Bastard jammed on a track together, as did Puff Daddy, Lil Kim, and System Of A Down, and the man of the hour, I didn’t catch his name, people just called him Chef, did an original called “Tonight Is Right For Love” with mother fucking Meatloaf.  All this was great, but when Jane’s Addiction front man Perry Farrell showed up, the place exploded.  Here’s a live recording of his performance…and yes, Wyclef Jean took the stage next.

“Hot Lava” by Perry Farrell

Russel Hobs, Noodle, Stuart "2D" Pot, and Murdoc Niccals of Gorillaz

A show I didn’t have the pleasure of seeing was Gorillaz and N.E.R.D. at MSG last weekend.  The powers that be denied a press pass, but that didn’t stop us here at SIMGE from blasting Gorrilaz (2001), Demon Days (2005), and Plastic Beach (2010) on full blast and pretending we were there, and here’s the number that started it all.

“Clint Eastwood” by Gorillaz

Matt & Kim

 

When Matt & Kim played The College of New Jersey, my current institution of higher learning, they stole the show upstaging both Asher Roth and the headlining act Girl Talk.  This Brooklyn based Electro-Pop duo ripped my school’s recreation center in half stealing minds and infiltrating my heart forever.  Kim and I even chatted for a few minutes.  It was good night.  The band gained underground fame with its 2006 self-titled debut and took the nation by storm three years later with Grand.  Included on that album were catchy Indie-Pop tracks like “Cutdown,” “Lessons Learned,” and the band’s global hit “Daylight.”  This next song is my personal favorite from that album.  Be on the lookout for Matt & Kim’s upcoming third studio release Sidewalks, due out November 2.

“Good Ol’ Fashion Nightmare” by Matt & Kim

The Gay Blades

I’ve been listening to The Gay Blades recent release, Savages, regularly for a couple of months.  There isn’t a weak spot on the album.  It will go down as one of my favorites of 2010, when the time comes for that sort of thing.  My latest favorite song off that album is “Puppy Mills Presents” and I was going to post it on this playlist.  However, interestingly enough, I came across this live recorded, acoustic, Daytrotter session The Gay Blades did back in 2008, and you wouldn’t believe what the bands closing salvo was, or maybe you can.  That acoustic guitar work makes this song sound much more sinister than the album version.  I loves it.

“Puppy Mills Presents” (Acoustic) by The Gay Blades

About rote7123

Chris graduated from The College Of New Jersey in May 2011 with a Bachelor Degree in Journalism and Professional Writing, as well as a degree in Communication Studies. He has held down a position in the Asbury Park Press’ Sports Department since September of 2010 and is a contributor to the outlet's Arts & Entertainment section, and has contributed to The Aquarian Weekly all while being the sole operator of Asbury Park's premier music news outlet Speak Into My Good Eye.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment