SIMGE’s Year End Lists….Artists Pick Em’: Taylor Allen

Asbury Punk and solo artist, Taylor Allen, wrote one of the best records of the year in Farmigdale, which landed at No. 6 on SIMGE’s Top 18 EPs of 2011 list, and followed it up with a captivating live album recorded at the BandsOnABudget gallery, both of which can be downloaded free of charge here.  And amongst the pair of records, the shows, and the work Allen does on his weekly podcast Attack Of The Soundtrack, Asbury’s finest barroom hero still made time to send us a list of his five favorite releases of 2011, and for that, we thank him.

5. Blossom and Die by  The Riverwinds

These guys are friends of mine, and I think they did a supreme job of making a fucking killer record. It has a really oaky taste, with a bitter aftertaste. It’s really a stripped down, laid-back record, with a ton of great songs, and a super melodic vibe. It’s music to listen to while sipping a fine bourbon and cleaning your gun. Love these dudes.

Favorite Track – “Hard to be Alone”

4. 2 by Mariachi El Bronx

I enjoy this album more than the first Mariachi El Bronx record. I also am USUALLY drunk on tequila, and shooting a pistol into the sky. I suppose I’m a little biased. VIVA LOS MARIACHI!!!

Favorite Track – “48 Roses”

3. David Comes to Life by Fucked Up

Some people hate Damian Abraham’s voice. I love it. I love this record. It’s hard, it’s pretty, and it makes me feel….fucked up….giggle giggle…blush…. It’s a great concept album, that really flies by when listening. A lot of concept records are hard to pick apart, and listen to track by track, but this one works either way for me. Thumbs up.

Favorite Track: “Turn The Season”

2. Bad As Me by  Tom Waits

This man has been making disgustingly, haunting and beautiful records for decades. The hype almost killed this one for me, but when I heard it, I peed a little (in a good way), and smiled. Love this man, and the beautiful music he makes. Incredible record.

Favorite Track – “Hell Broke Luce”

1. Wasting Light by Foo Fighters

How can you not love the Foo Fighters? This is one of my favorites by them. Kicks you in the balls from the get go, and ends with a super-catchy, but rockin tune. What am I 50? Rockin tune?? Anyway, this record is great. Short and sweet. Plus, Dave Grohl is a hunk.

Favorite Track – “I Should Have Known”

About rote7123

Chris graduated from The College Of New Jersey in May 2011 with a Bachelor Degree in Journalism and Professional Writing, as well as a degree in Communication Studies. He has held down a position in the Asbury Park Press’ Sports Department since September of 2010 and is a contributor to the outlet's Arts & Entertainment section, and has contributed to The Aquarian Weekly all while being the sole operator of Asbury Park's premier music news outlet Speak Into My Good Eye.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to SIMGE’s Year End Lists….Artists Pick Em’: Taylor Allen

  1. Darrin says:

    I see Verizon has made you an angary young man Mr Allen.

Leave a comment